Like most of my classmates have stated in their posts about this week’s book, it’s definitely a more challenging read than expected. It felt slower and harder to get through than most books as there were parts I found slightly boring, and it took me a bit of time to get a feel of the book as I found myself constantly re-reading parts of the book to try and make sense of what was on the page in front of me. Whenever I thought I was starting to figure out what he was trying to say, another sentence came out and threw me off, and then I was back to square one, sitting there confused about what I was reading. I was able to grasp the book’s central themes, like memory, childhood, and nostalgia, and I took these aspects to connect with his writing and make sense of the book.


There were parts of the book I really enjoyed, such as the iconic Madeleine scene. I love how the Madeleine was written into such a symbolic key of unlocking the deep memories of his aunt. Proust illustrates the connections of the familiarity of smell, touch and taste of the Madeleine, which triggered his memory from his childhood in the town of Combray. The sudden and strong recollection of memories triggered by his basic senses becomes the starting point of the novel’s central themes.

Another thing that stood out to me is his relationship with his mother. It might be because I took psych and learnt about Freud, but the way he coerced his mother into giving him a goodnight kiss made me think of Freud and the Oedipus Complex. However, I think his need for his mother’s kisses provides insight into his anxiety about leaving his mother alone at night, and it shows us his need for a mother’s comfort, security, and overall maternal affection. Bringing back the theme of memory where his sensory experiences trigger these episodic memories, the memory of his mother’s kisses carried some sentimental value, representing comfort and a connection to the past.

One thing that really helped me understand this book was the amount of imagery depicted. When I read, I can always visualise the scenarios in my head, allowing me to connect more emotionally to the book. This is one of the aspects that helped me get out of the hole of not knowing what was going on. A specific scene I had in mind that helped me visualise the most was when he talked about his childhood terrors. This explains why he desperately needed his mother’s kisses and comfort at night due to his childhood fears. I could relate to that because, as a kid who was also afraid of the dark and ‘ghosts’, I would always hide under my blanket to ‘avoid’ the dangers out of the covers.


Moreover, my question for discussion is: Can you relate to any childhood fears that have left a lasting impression on your memories?


4 responses to “Week two : Marcel Proust’s “Combray””

  1. Daniel Orizaga Doguim Avatar

    Ah, Freud! The atmosphere described by the narrator of the novel would, in fact, seem quite familiar to the Austrian author. They share many cultural assumptions, despite the difference in nationality and language. What did you read in Proust that made you better understand the father of psychoanalysis?

    Like

  2. Ludivine Cat Avatar

    It always comes back to Freud… I thought the mother’s goodnight kiss was innocent at first, but the more I read and the worst it got. For me, when I was a kid, it was like a routine. My mom would come to my room and tuck me in, and we would talk for a few minutes. However, in the book the narrator is really obsessed with this goodnight kiss and I did think to myself that it was very weird and taking big proportions.

    Like

  3. Jessica Jensen Avatar
    Jessica Jensen

    Hi Meave,
    I felt the same as well when I started to read this book. It was very challenging to get into initially, but being a visually-oriented reader proved to be my saving grace too. There was a lot of vivid language and imagery within ‘Combray’ which I felt gave me a solid anchor to fully immerse myself in his world as well!

    Like

  4. gabriella desire Avatar
    gabriella desire

    Freud has done it again! I also noticed his complex relationship with his mother while reading, and I completely agree that not all his ideas are crystal clear in his writing . As for your question, I vividly recall being terrified of the dark as a kid, thanks to nightmare, similar to Proust. Thankfully (unlike Proust lol) it didn’t lead to any odd dependency on my mother.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started