Hello everyone! My name is Meave (pronounced Maeve, like the sex-ed character). I’m a first-year student in the Bachelor of Arts program and hope to major in psychology. I’m from Hong Kong, and I have yet to meet many people who are also from HK, so if you are, feel free to come up to me and say hi! Coming to university was the first time I came to Vancouver, so it was tricky for me to settle in since I’d never been so far away from home before. But the environment really helped, especially with how much nature surrounds campus and how big and beautiful UBC is.


My hobbies include singing, dancing, photography, video games, reading, watching Disney movies and anime etc. I’ve really gotten into listening to jazzy artists like Laufey. Some of my favourite artists currently are Childish Gambino, Bruno Mars, Ariana Grande and Sabrina Carpenter. I also like listening to K-pop, mainly krnb, with artists like Leehi, Dean, Wave to Earth, etc.


I want to major in psychology to hopefully help people who may be suffering from mental health issues, as some of my family members have gone through depression and anxiety, which made me want to do something to help others in need. I also feel like being a psychologist is in relatively high demand right now, which also explains why most of the Arts program seems full of psych majors. I’m hoping to get my master’s in psychology after my undergraduate degree and return to HK to my family and start a psych career.


I’ve recently gotten into reading around October last year, so hopefully, with the large amount of readings we need in this class, my hobby for reading will come around and help me get through this course efficiently. Ultimately, I took this class for the literature requirement, and a friend told me how interesting this course was, so I decided to give it a try. After today’s first class, I wasn’t expecting us to have this much freedom over the workload and our overall grade. While there are a lot of readings to be done since I want a good grade, I like the whole idea of this ‘contract’. It’s interesting and nothing I’ve seen before in my other classes, so I’m praying I won’t break my contract and get a good grade without even needing to attend a final.


I hope to make some new friends and get through this course with flying colours! See you all on Friday 🙂


2 responses to “Introduction”

  1. Jon Avatar
    Jon

    Welcome to the course, Meave! There’s no doubt that you’re not the only Psych major here! (And I like to teach you guys a thing or two that your Psych profs won’t… starting with Freud! 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ludivine Cat Avatar

    Hi Meave! I’m Ludi, and I am also a first-year student who wants to major in psychology! You said you got into reading last October. I was just curious about which book got you into reading. For me, it was the Harry Potter series when I was about seven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started